Nevada Auto Insurance

If you want to drive a vehicle in the state of Nevada, it is a must that you possess car insurance. Nevada, like other US states, has its own requirements for insurance. Hence, before you decide on getting one, you must learn more about all existing insurance laws in the state of Nevada. By doing so, you have an excellent means of protecting yourself. Likewise, you will be aware of the variety of choices that might be available for you.

Nevada Auto Insurance Requirements

When it comes to car insurance requirements in the state of Nevada, the liability limits for auto insurance laws of the state is 15/30/10. This is in case of property damage and physical injury. The figures are in the thousands and represent a dollar amount. Hence, 15 here is actually $15,000 dollars, and so forth.

In case of bodily harm, you will be required to have insurance liability limits of $15,000 for any bodily injury sustained, as well as $30,000 for any accident. Remember that such figures are minimum amounts. A lot of people prefer to get high liability limits of $100,000 and $300,000 for physical injuries for every individual and accident.

On the other hand, minimum liability for property damages is set at $10,000. As for the liability limit for property damage, amount is set at $50,000. Nevada insurance laws offer you the option to purchase car insurance coverage as a merged single limit. If this is the case, the minimum limit of insurance is set at $40,000.

Penalties for driving without car insurance in Nevada

There are penalties when it comes to breaking the Nevada car insurance laws. Definitely, it is not much different for insurance laws of other US states. The usual penalties to be imposed, if you decide to drive without auto insurance in the state of Nevada are:

  • Payment of significant amount of money in a form of a fine
  • Confiscation or even cancellation of driver’s license
  • Possible Jail Time

Such penalties can be easily avoided if you obtain appropriate Nevada car insurance policy. Unfortunately, there are many drivers who have a devil-may-care attitude, and simply drive without insurance. If you are one of them, remember that the risk of getting caught without any insurance in Nevada is high. Hence, be ready to pay the price.

Fortunately, with more and more affordable insurance companies joining the market, people will now have a chance to obtain car insurance, just to be able to eliminate the risk.

Nevada DUI Laws

Nevada DUI laws prohibit you to drive of you have a blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, of .08 percent or above. The BAC .08 standard is used across the country as a measurement for impaired drivers. The state has a much lower limit for drivers who are below 21 years old, as well as commercial drivers.

In other words, if your blood alcohol level reaches 0.08 percent, the state of Nevada can charge you with DUI. However, commercial drivers must maintain a limit of 0.04 percent. If you are below 21, you must have a BAC of 0.02 percent.

Penalties for first-time DUI offenders in Nevada are as follows:

  • Jail time of up to 6 months
  • Fine of $400 to $1,000

Other minimum penalties include arrest, impoundment of vehicle, community services of up to 96 hours (4 days), chemical test fee of $60, and court costs amounting to $70.

If you are a first-time offender, your license can be revoked for 3 months, which you then need to pay $65 to reinstate the license. You have to pay $35 as victim’s compensation penalty, as well as $25.75 dollars as fee for driver’s license.

Not only will you have shell out a substantial amount of money, but you will likewise have to give a considerable amount of time as a penalty for your DUI offense. First of all, you have to take some driving skills tests at Nevada DMV. You need to attend a DUI school for alcohol abuse treatment. You also need to obtain SR22 liability insurance, which is suitable for 3 years.

SR22 Insurance Nevada

An SR-22 Insurance Nevada is a form to your policy, which is purchased in combination with the insurance policy, albeit it can be obtained separately. SR-22 is required by the Nevada DMV after an individual has shown high-risk driving tendencies.

Examples of tendencies that can lead to SR22 Insurance requirement are DUIs, accidents or tickets obtained in a short period of time, or any accident that involves a death. Nevada SR-22, or any other state SR22 for that matter, acts as a guarantee by the insurer that you possess continuous liability insurance coverage.

Nevada Car Insurance Rates

Nevada car insurance rates are acknowledged by many industry experts as being above the average of the national vehicle insurance rates. However, compared to other states, such rates are not that high. If you are in Nevada, and you want to get insurance for your insurance, the rates depend on a number of factors, which you must consider when shopping for insurance quotes.

You need to consider your age, model of your car, miles already driven, driving record, and credit score. These are the factors that you must keep in mind when in search of the best car rates for your insurance. They will undoubtedly come in handy when you finally choose the best insurance after comparing a number of car insurance quotes.